Clerks II

Clerks II

Genre:  Comedy
Written and directed by:  Kevin Smith
Starring:  Brian O’Halloran, Jeff Anderson, Rosario Dawson, Trevor Fehrman
Jay & Silent Bob:  Jason Mewes and Kevin Smith

[Background]
I admit I never saw the first Clerks movie, but I’m somewhat familiar with Kevin Smith. Back in the day I did see Chasing Amy and Dogma, loved them both. A couple months ago I heard Kevin Smith on a radio morning show and thought—Wow, what a groovy guy. However, I don’t follow his films like I do Christopher Guest featuring Parker Posey. I admit my ignorance of Jay and Silent Bob. How ignant? Brace yourself. I assumed they were just another Bill and Ted, and I didn’t know Silent Bob=Kevin Smith. I know. Soy un perdedor. 

[Movie Review]
Ok, there I was, ready to walk out on Clerks II after the first 10-15 minutes. I didn’t think I could get into Dante and Randall’s characters. And I didn’t think I could deal with Rosario Dawson. But I decided to ride it out. And now I’m glad I did. As the movie progressed, I liked it more and more. But I’ll warn you, it’s not for everyone. They talk about a lot of inappropriate things that people don’t normally think about let alone say out loud. Like ATM, which made me smile and think of Rocky, Elle and Vivid girls. They brought in a donkey and took it where Tom Hanks and the boys of Bachelor Party didn’t dare go. Oh hell no. And if you’re a freak for stuff like Transformers and the Star Wars and Hobbit trilogies, they go at with so much passion that someone eventually pukes. When you see this film, leave yourself open and you’ll grow to love each character. Even Rosario Dawson. And for a simple script primarily shot in a single location, the photography and editing was genuine and flawless.

Have you noticed that every film with a loyal cult following features an ensemble dance montage? For example, everyone in that downtown Chicago parade was synchronized dancing to Twist and Shout in Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, and everyone at Rydell High geeked out to We Go Together in Grease. Even music videos followed suit—like Thriller and Love is a Battlefield.  Good stuff. It can’t be easy working a synchronized dance montage into a storyline. But Clerks II lets everyone have it with the Jackson 5’s ABC, complete with masculine choreography. And it takes guts reincarnating the BFF bond of Butch and Sundance on bumper cars in a Jersey amusement park to the tune of Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head.  Lastly, if you’re into cameo appearances, you won’t be disappointed—Ben Affleck, Jason Lee, Wanda Sykes, et al. I’d be interested in hearing from longtime Kevin Smith fans to see how Clerks II compares to the original.  

Added: Joel Siegel is a dick…


Clerks II trailer

 
Henry Rollins interviews Kevin Smith 

One Response to “Clerks II”

  1. sports bar in baltimore Says:

    Amaze, magnificent weblog structure! The time have you been blogging to get? you have made blogging and site-building peek quick. The total glimpse of your respective web page is amazing, in addition to the written content!

Leave a Reply

