Black Spring

Black Spring by Henry M ller 

Author:  Henry Miller
Genre:  Memoir and social criticism woven with heavy doses of dark poetry

I just finished reading my first Herman Henry Miller novel—Black Spring. It blew me away. Miller’s storytelling style is so personal and direct. It’s kind of like taking an unexpected medium punch in the gut. The geography becomes local, the imagery is rough, obscene and poetic, and goes on for pages at a time. Miller becomes larger than life, powerful through his honesty and vulnerability. I am amazed with his unique ability to effortlessly paint such vivid pictures, wander aimlessly through haunting nightmares, and relive pleasure and passion. From sitting around in the Parisian home of friend Jabberewohl Crondstadt celebrating each other’s conquests and madness, to wandering the dark bum-piss hooker-lined streets of forbidden America, I found myself constantly stopping, re-reading and wondering how he took me there. Eventually I stopped raising my hand to ask questions, and just sat back and listened.

The Henry Miller Library


Henry Miller, NYC

Leave a Reply

