Caught zooming through a FasTrak-Only lane

fastrak_jeep.jpgIt happened after the charity golf tournament. Lori and Emily hitched a ride back to the City with me. We crossed the Golden Gate Bridge and approach the toll plaza, but I wasn’t paying attention and ended up in a “FasTrak Only” lane—no toll collector, just a scanner looking for a FasTrak permit on my car. Oops. I zoomed through accepting the fact that several weeks later I can expect a hefty carpool violation ticket in the mail.A couple weeks later the dreaded FasTrack letter arrived. I didn’t want to know how much the fine was. I just wasn’t interested. To this date that piece of mail remains unopened. Several more weeks go by and another FasTrak envelope arrives with “Delinquent” in red ink staring at me. Did I open up this letter? Not right away. I let i t sit on my desk. Two more weeks pass—there are random notes and telpohone numbers covering both back and front of the envelope. Tonight I finally had the courage to open it up. Original fine = $40. (I was expecting something like $200+). Delinquent on top of the fine = $75. And there’s a final due date listed in bold letters, which coincidentally is TODAY!No time to be upset, I scan the letter for a URL hoping I can pay the fine online. It’s my lucky day.

  • :: Bay Area FasTrak
  • :: I type in the violation number and my license plate number
  • :: I click on the first link and an image of my car pops up
  • :: I read the instructions: Pay the fine or dispute it

Dispute is an option … Who knew? FasTrack-slackers can dispute violations online. So I write this slick draft (in Notepad), then I copy and paste it in the dispute box. I fail to see the “200 character limit” disclaimer, so my 1000+ character Aly McBeal-like argument gets truncated. I spend another hour trimming that sucker down to exactly 200 characters. This is what I submitted. Verbatim.

I seldom cross the GG Bridge, & I was not clear on Cash/FasTrak & FasTrak Only lanes. However, it was my understanding that a car w/3+ passengers is considered CARPOOL. There were 3 of us, so I thought I was OK passing through that lane. Thanks for your understanding.  

When we got to the toll gates,, it was 5 minutes before start of carpool hours. Cross your fingers…

6 Responses to “Caught zooming through a FasTrak-Only lane”

  1. slau Says:

    Well…did they accept your dispute?

  2. Darius Miranda Says:

    They dropped the fine and reduced it to the price of toll … $5.

    I got off. Thanks for asking, SLAU.

  3. Nick Johnson Says:

    Lucky you,
    Once I realized I drove into the wrong lane at 3am, I reversed and went through a pay booth. They rejected my dispute, EVEN THOUGH I PAID the toll.
    Should have just said I was carpooling.

    Still waiting on that administrative review…

  4. http://oakgrovememorialpark.ning.com/profiles/blogs/Positive-aspects-of-garcinia-cambogia Says:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the longer term and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve learn this submit and if I could I want to suggest you few interesting issues or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles relating to this article. I wish to learn more issues about it!

  5. dell servers Says:

    Nowadays, computer system keep track of am located carved up
    in to CRT afterward LCD keep an eye on. CRT
    screen is alive furnished with a CRT scrutinize glimpse
    moreover consider reminiscent in the SMALL SCREEN. Their core
    hindrances are the load in addition to dimension. In recent times, was located effectively broke open from the habit (except for using zastosowanimi that will
    at rest labor superior) pertaining to LCD supervisor, that’s assigned for your liquid
    gemstone panel, which in turn returned the been aware of CRT image
    tubing. The price for your minor measurements of the maneuver is normally slash reflection excellence.

  6. Stephanie Says:

    Way cool! Some extremely validd points! I appreciate
    you penning this post and also thhe rest of the website is also really good.

Leave a Reply

